The International Code Councilannounced that eight more states have adopted building safety code, and that 46 states now use the codes. Indiana has a new state building code. So does Minnesota, West Virginia, New Jersey, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming. Those eight states adopted new building safety codes created by the International Code Council. Nationwide, 46 states have adopted one or more of the International Codes at the state or jurisdictional level. The District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and federal agencies also are enforcing one or more of the International Codes.