TheRefrigeration Service Engineers Society(RSES) honored the following individuals and organizations at its Annual Awards Luncheon last month at the 65th RSES Annual Conference in Las Vegas. The Paul B. Reed Award, which recognizes RSES chapters with exceptional educational programs, was presented. 2002 winners include: Southeastern Iowa Chapter, Burlington, IA; Hill County Chapter, Kerrville, TX; and Souris Chapter, Minot, ND, small chapter category; Central Missouri Chapter, Jefferson City, MO., medium chapter category; Greater Toledo Chapter, Toledo, OH, large chapter category.

The John Spence Award, which recognizes the RSES member(s) who achieved the highest grade within the past year on the Certificate Member exam, also was presented. Recipients were: Michael A. Korte, CM, Greater Cincinnati Chapter, Cincinnati; Joel D. Krause, CM, Red River Chapter, Fargo, ND; and Gregory J. McKendall, CM, Mardi Gras Chapter, New Orleans.

The Imperial Award recognizes RSES Certificate Members with the highest grade on a Specialist Examination during the past year. Winners include: Thomas B. Demko, CMS, Central Connecticut Chapter, Hartford, CT., Commercial Refrigeration Specialist; Scott M. Fiorito, CMS, Rochester Chapter, Rochester, NY, Controls Specialist; Richard D. Blank, CMS, Greater Toledo Chapter, Toledo, OH, Domestic Specialist; Ratib Baker, CMS, Chesapeake Chapter, Baltimore and Scott J. Sligowski, CMS, Greater Chicago Chapter, Chicago, Heating Specialist; and Harlan “Skip” Krepcik, CMS, Tidewater Chapter, Norfolk, VA, HVAC/R Electrical Specialist.

The Wayburn Wilson, CMS Memorial Award recognizes member(s) who have successfully attained all categories of the Certificate Member Specialist Classifications. Winners include Richard D. Blank, CMS, Greater Toledo Chapter, Toledo, OH and Harlan “Skip” Krepcik, CMS, Tidewater Chapter, Norfolk, VA.

The To Make Life Worthwhile Award recognizes individuals and groups who provide nonsectarian, nonpolitical community service. The winner was the Midwest Region Auxiliary.