The Refrigeration Service Engineers Society(RSES) presented the following awards earlier this year during the 65th RSES Annual Conference in Las Vegas: The V.V. Solomon Award recognizes the educators/teachers who have made outstanding contributions to the development of students in the HVACR field and is endowed by Alco Controls. Winners included Larry Varnado, CMS, Red Stick Chapter, Baton Rouge, LA, small chapter category; Robert K. Hill, CM, Middle Tennessee Chapter, Nashville, TN, medium chapter category; and Bruce Lanphear, CM, Fox Valley Chapter, Batavia, IL, large chapter category.

Garth Denison, CMS, International Past President and RSES Hall of Fame member, received the Herman Goldberg Award. This award is presented to a Manufacturers Service Advisory Council (MSAC) member who has accumulated a lifetime of outstanding achievements in advancing the HVAC/R profession and is endowed by the MSAC.

James A. Malone of the Cowtown Chapter, Fort Worth, TX, received the Speaker of the Year Award. This award recognizes an individual who consistently presents outstanding educational programs at all levels of RSES meetings and conferences and is endowed by International Past President Robb E. Isaacs, CMS, EVP and his wife, Carole.

Gary A. Struhar, CMS, of the Border Cities Chapter, Windsor, ON, Canada, received the Member of the Year Award. This award recognizes a member for outstanding contributions to RSES and the HVACR industry in areas of education, public relations, safety and society growth and is endowed by Superior Refrigeration Products.