Washington State University quarterback Gardner Minshew II has won the 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A.O. Smith. The company said the award is given annually to the nation’s top quarterback who best exemplifies character, scholastic, and athletic achievement.

Minshew has completed 433 of 613 passes for a total of 4,477 yards (71 percent completion rate), throwing for 36 touchdowns with just nine interceptions, and a QB rating of 148.4. He has led WSU on game-winning, fourth quarter drives against Utah, Stanford, and California. In the fourth quarter this season, Minshew has completed 92 of 127 passes (72 percent completion rate) for 1,169 yards, 13 touchdowns, and no interceptions.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award presented by A.O. Smith has been given at the end of each college football season since 1987. Candidates must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, team work, and leadership qualities.

Minshew’s achievements will be honored on Friday, December 7, in Baltimore. The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation Inc. and A.O. Smith will return to the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel and Grand Historic Venue. Former NFL quarterback and 2010 Golden Arm Award recipient Scott Tolzien will deliver the keynote remarks at this year’s event.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016), and last year’s winner Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State 2017).