The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) elected new officers during its annual meeting Nov. 12-14 in Miami. The association also presented awards to industry leaders.

"We are honored to recognize very deserving individuals and also to welcome these innovative leaders," said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek. "We are very grateful to them for their service to AHRI and the HVACR and water heating industry."

AHRI's new Chairman is Chris Peel, president and COO of Atlanta-based Rheem Manufacturing.

The officers and executive committee are as follows:

Vice chairman: Dave Regnery, executive vice president, climate and industrial segments, Ingersoll Rand

Vice chairman: Bill Steel, president and CEO, Bard Manufacturing

Treasurer: Ron Duncan, president, Magic Aire

Immediate past chairman: Chris Drew, executive vice president, Burnham Holdings

Executive Committee:

Dennis Appel, EVP-Heat Transfer Solutions, Modine

Gary Bedard, EVP, president and COO Worldwide Refrigeration, Lennox

Jason Bingham, president, residential HVAC and supply, Ingersoll Rand

R. Bruce Carnevale, president and COO, Bradford White Corporation

Jim Dagley, president, heating and water Solutions, Watts

John Galyen, president North America, Danfoss

Chris LaPietra, business leader stationary refrigerants, Honeywell

Doug Murdock, president and COO, Tecumseh

Chris Nelson, president North America HVAC systems and service, Carrier

Earle Pfefferkorn, president, Cleaver-Brooks

Rod Rushing, VP and president Building Solutions NA, Johnson Controls

Brent Schroeder, group president heating and air conditioning, Emerson

Michael Schwartz, CEO Daikin Applied Americas, Daikin

Kevin Wheeler, president and COO, A.O. Smith

The Richard C. Schulze Award is given for distinguished service and commitment to AHRI and the industry's goals and objectives. AHRI congratulates:

Joe Boros, engineering manager, product development R&D, Rheem

Janine Brady, program manager certification, AHRI

Eugene (Gus) Faris, vice president engineering, Nailor Industries

Nicholas (Nick) Giuffre, president and CEO, Bradford White

Rob Uselton, engineer, Lennox Industries

Jim VerShaw, chief engineer residential HVAC, Ingersoll Rand

In 2017, AHRI honored two individuals with Distinguished Service Awards, AHRI says this is the association's highest honor, which recognizes individuals who are leaders in the industry and who have made significant contributions throughout their careers. AHRI honored Dave LaGrand, retired from Nortek Global HVAC, and Tom Watson, retired from Daikin Applied.