ASHRAErecognized 38 people for their contributions to ASHRAE and the hvacr industry at the society's 2002 Winter Meeting held in Atlantic City, NJ, Jan. 12-16. The ASHRAE/ALCO Medal recognizes distinguished public service by an ASHRAE member. The recipient is presidential memberRichard Hayter, Ph.D., P.E., Fellow ASHRAE. Hayter is associate dean of engineering for external affairs at Kansas State University in Manhattan, KS.

The Society elevated 16 members to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE: Gail Brager, Ph.D., is a professor at the University of California, Berkeley in Berkeley, CA. Clark Bullard, Ph.D. , is a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in Urbana, IL. Richard Cawley, P.E. , Life Member, is director of technology development, unitary products group, for The Trane Co. in Tyler, TX. Lawrence Markel is vice president of Sentech Inc. in Knoxville, TN. Blair McCarry, P.Eng. , is senior vice president of Keen Engineering Co. Ltd. in North Vancouver, BC. David McCoy, P.E. , is president of Burns, Delatte and McCoy Inc. in Houston, TX. C.S. Ow, Ph.D., P.Eng. , is a professor in the mechanical engineering faculty at Mara University of Technology in Selangor, Malaysia. Gaylon Richardson is vice president of Engineered Air Balance Co. Inc. in Houston, TX. Mike Scofield, P.E. , is president of Conservation Mechanical Systems in Sebastopol, CA. Boggarm Setty, P.E. , is president of Setty & Associates Ltd. in Fairfax, VA. S.A. Sherif, Ph.D. , is a professor of mechanical engineering and associate director of the Industrial Assessment Center at the University of Florida, Department of Mechanical Engineering, in Gainesville, FL. Ronald Strong, P.Eng. , is president of R.H. Strong and Associates Inc. in Delta, BC, Canada. Samuel Toub, P.E. , is president of S. Toub and Associates in Dallas, TX. David Wang is a professor and chairman of the Department of Institute of Air Conditioning and Refrigeration, National Taipei University of Technology in Taipei, Taiwan. William Webb, P.E. , is CEO of Performance Technology Consulting Ltd. in Lake Bluff, IL. Yew Wah Wong, P.Eng. , is an associate professor in the School of Mechanical and Production Engineering at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore.

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, which incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air quality. The Technology Award first-place winners are: Warren Lloyd, P.E., for the new medical campus at Great River Medical Center in West Burlington, IA, in the health care facilities, new, category. Lloyd is principal at KJWW Engineering Consultants in Rock Island, IL. W.S. "Lanny" Joyce, for the lake source cooling project at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY, in the alternative and/or renewable energy use category. He is manager of utility engineering, planning and energy management, Cornell University Department of Utilities and Energy Management.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of undergraduate students to develop architectural design, hvac system design or system selection of an animal services center in Calgary, AB, Canada. In the hvac System Design Category: the recipients are: First-place: Michael Hahn, Michael Laws, Joseph Laws, James Mallory and Nathaniel Mielke of Ferris State University in Big Rapids, MI. Second-place (tie): Douglas Popeney of California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, CA., and Nithiphan Kamolpattana, Kittipong Sukapiriya, Boonyasak Tantisirisomboon and Nithichai Thienrajanrawong of Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand.

In the hvac System Selection Category, the recipients are: First-place: Scott Breuker, Bruce Calkins, Rodney Cook, Jonathan Niksich and Coury Revan of Ferris State University in Big Rapids, MI. Second-place: Anne Martin, Jason Moyer and Jeremy Snyder of Penn State University in University Park, PA.

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators. The recipient is Branislav Todorovic, Ph.D., a professor at the University of Belgrade in Belgrade, Yugoslavia, and director of the hvac research and development program for ENPLUS.