Allan Jowseyof the University of Edinburgh,Jessica A. Kratchmanof the University of Maryland, andScott Somersof Arizona State University, have been chosen as this year's scholarship recipients of the Fire Safety Education Memorial Fund of the nonprofitNFPA. A committee appointed by the NFPA's board of directors selected the winners based on their academic achievement, leadership qualities, concern for others, commitment to volunteerism, and pursuit of careers in fire safety. Each scholarship is $5,000.