The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers(ASHRAE) has announced the recipients of eight scholarships and one fellowship totaling $46,500 for the 2001-2002 academic year. The students, all pursuing courses leading to a career within the hvac/r industry, received the following undergraduate ASHRAE scholarships: Reuben Trane Scholarship: Shawn Storz, Arkansas Tech University, majoring In electrical/mechanical engineering, received a two-year $5,000 per year scholarship.

The following one-year, $3,000 scholarships were awarded: Henry Adams Scholarship: Scott Papay, University of Colorado, majoring in mechanical engineering. Duane Hanson Scholarship: Brad Palmisiano, Pennsylvania State University, majoring in architectural engineering. Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Shannon Appleby, Pennsylvania State University, majoring in architectural engineering.

ASHRAE Scholarships: Brandon Harwick, Pennsylvania State University, majoring in architectural engineering/mechanical engineering, and Aisha Oke, San Jose State University, majoring in mechanical engineering. Memorial Scholarship: Alice Cao, Columbia University, majoring in industrial engineering. Engineering Technology Scholarship: Rachel Guptel, University of New Hampshire, majoring in mechanical engineering technology.

In addition, the Willis H. Carrier Graduate Research Fellowship was awarded to Bo Shen, Purdue University, for research related to developing and improving methods for modeling the performance of air-conditioning equipment. He received a one-year $20,500 fellowship.