ASHRAEhas announced the recipients of 12 scholarships totaling $38,000 for the 2005-06 academic year. The students, all pursuing courses leading to a career within the HVACR industry, received the following undergraduate ASHRAE scholarships:

  • Reuben Trane Scholarships: Michael Basha, University of the Pacific, mechanical engineering, received a two-year $5,000 per year scholarship. The scholarship was established in 1991 when The Trane Co. established an endowment fund in memory of its founder. The following one-year $3,000 scholarships were awarded:
  • Henry Adams Scholarship: Lee Zambino, Widener University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established in 1998 by the consulting firm of Henry Adams Inc. in memory of its founder.
  • Duane Hanson Scholarship: Salome Balderrama, University of Texas-Austin, architectural engineering. The scholarship's namesake was president of Gayner Engineers in San Francisco.
  • Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Zachery Schiller, City College of New York, mechanical engineering. The scholarship's namesake was an industry pioneer who was granted 219 patents and strived to provide knowledge to younger people in the industry.
  • Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Daniel Wray, Tennessee Technological University, electrical engineering. The scholarship's namesake was a former ASHRAE vice president and a graduate of Tennessee Technological University.
  • ASHRAE Region VIII Scholarship: Jeanette De Leon, University of Texas-San Antonio, mechanical engineering.
  • ASHRAE Scholarships: Lola Oyebola, Michigan Technological University, electrical engineering; Alfred Vitela III, University of Texas-San Antonio, mechanical and HVAC engineering.
  • Memorial Scholarship: Jeremy Wright, University of Cincinnati, mechanical engineering.
  • Associate of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Michael Dean, Central Kentucky Technical College, HVAC technology.
  • Bachelor's Engineering Technology Scholarship: Michael Rister, Texas Tech University, mechanical engineering technology.
  • J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship: Igor Tatarintsev, University of Pittsburgh, mechanical engineering. During his career, Mehalick, an ASHRAE member, oversaw development of air-conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace, and transportation applications.
ASHRAE has awarded 127 scholarships during the past 15 years. The ASHRAE scholarship program encourages and assists HVAC&R education through scholarships and fellowships.