Ten industry leaders were recently recognized with special awards by theAir-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute(ARI) at its 48th Annual Meeting in Aventura, Florida.

William E. Dalton, Horace "Ed" French, Joseph R. Humphrey, Phil Nohr, and Gary L. Tapella received the 2001 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award. John W. Norris, Jr. received the ARI Lifetime Achievement Award, while Donald P. Grob was presented with ARI's Meritorious Service Award. A Special Recognition Award was given to Keith Coursin, Lev I. Goldberg, and Thomas W. Mikulina for the key role they played in establishing a successful heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration program at a Milwaukee, Wisconsin high school.

In addition, Mark S. Menzer, ARI vice president of engineering and research, was presented the Wilbur T. Pentzer Award for achievement and leadership by the International Institute of Refrigeration and the U.S. National Committee, of which Menzer is co-chairman.